scultpure facebook sculpture twitter sculpture youtube sculpture images



Selection Committee (Voting Members)

Mary Bordeaux

Mary Bordeaux, curator at Crazy Horse Memorial and former curator of The Heritage Center at Red Cloud Indian School in Pine Ridge, South Dakota, is an enrolled member of the Sicangu Lakota Oyate (Rosebud Sioux Tribe). She holds an MFA in Museum Exhibition Planning and Design from The University of the Arts in Philadelphia, as well as a BA and an AFA in Museum Studies from the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe. She is a member of the South Dakota Arts Council as well as the Rapid City Arts Council’s Board of Directors at The Dahl Arts Center, and has served on various other committees and panels.

Ruth Brennan

Ruth Brennan has been active in arts administration for many years. At present, she sits on the Journey Museum, the Black Hills Playhouse (former president) and South Dakota Art Museum (former president) boards of directors and currently chairs the Rapid City Regional Airport’s public art project. She is the former executive director of the Rapid City Arts Council/The Dahl Arts Center, past chairman of the governor-appointed South Dakota Arts Council, and the 2011 Governor’s Awards in the Arts recipient.

Jerry Cole

Jerry Cole has over 30 years of professional park and recreation experience. Working as a consultant and director of parks and recreation to increase quality of life through parks, recreation, trails and tourism, Jerry has been associated with planning and operating public spaces throughout the country for the benefit of citizens and visitors alike.  

Dennis Holub

Dennis Holub retired to his hometown of Rapid City in 2009 after 38 years with state government working for the South Dakota Arts Council—22 of those years as executive director. Currently, he is chair of the Arts Midwest board of directors and president of the Black Hills Playhouse Alumni Association board. Previously, he was a member of the board of trustees for the American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress.

Kitty Kinsman

Kitty Kinsman is president and founder of The K Group, providing public affairs and lobbying services to a variety of non-profit and business organizations. Kitty has been an advocate for Rapid City's downtown initiatives serving as one of the founding board members of Destination Rapid City and as past chairman of the Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. She currently serves on the boards of the Black Hills Area Community Foundation and the South Dakota Parks and Wildlife Foundation supporting a variety of regional projects to enhance the quality of life in Rapid City and the Black Hills region

RaVae Luckhart

RaVae Luckhart, professor of studio art and art history (ret.) and gallery founder, owns L'Atelier du Papier, a printmaking/painting studio in Rapid City, South Dakota, and L'Atelier du Papier Ouest, a painting studio, on San Juan Island, Washington. Moving between these studios, she creates paintings and prints for exhibition. RaVae served as artist in residence with the South Dakota Arts Council for several years, creating public art and teaching people of all ages.

Pepper Massey

Pepper Massey, executive director of the Rapid City Arts Council, has also served as development director and interim executive director for the organization. Pepper is a former marketing consultant, newspaper publisher and director of the Sturgis Rally in Sturgis, SD. The arts council manages The Dahl Arts Center in downtown Rapid City.

Dan Senftner

Dan Senftner, president and CEO of Destination Rapid City, has a long history in downtown Rapid City. He started in retail in 1974 and has purchased various properties since. He has become very involved with downtown Rapid City and historical restoration. In Dan’s current position with Destination Rapid City, he has overseen the construction of Main Street Square, work on the Memorial Park Promenade and the entire enhancement of the downtown area.

Lynn Thorpe

Lynn Thorpe studied French and English at the University of Washington (BA 1968); art at the Canberra School of Art, Canberra, A.C.T Australia; the University of Wyoming (MFA, 1983); and printmaking at the Canadian Institute of Non-Toxic Printmaking, Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada. She retired after 22 years of teaching color and design courses at Northwest College in Powell, Wyoming. She now lives in Rapid City, South Dakota, and paints not-necessarily-realistic landscapes in oil. Her work can be seen at

Selection Committeee (Non-Voting Members)

  • Jhon GoesInCenter, Ex-Officio, Jewelry Artist
  • Bonny Peterson, Ex-Officio, Rapid City City Council
  • Pat Roseland, Ex-Officio, Rapid City Historic Preservation Commissioner
  • Lon Van Duesen, Ex-Officio, Rapid City Parks and Recreation

Project Leadership

Mary Maxon, Project Advisor

A museum professional since 1985, Maxon began her career working as an artist for Richard Rush Studios Inc., a sculpture and exhibit studio in Chicago. Since that time she has worked in museums as sculptor, illustrator, interactive exhibit developer, mount-maker, model-maker, installation supervisor, exhibit developer, graphic designer, exhibits curator, and collections manager for organizations including The Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago, the Siouxland Heritage Museums in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, the Idaho Museum of Natural History in Pocatello, Idaho, the Rapid City Arts Council at the Dahl Arts Center in Rapid City, South Dakota, and the Heritage Center at Red Cloud Indian School in Pine Ridge, South Dakota.

Patrick Wyss, Project Manager

Patrick Wyss, Fellow of the American Society of Landscape Architects, has dedicated his career to creating memorable outdoor places. His award-winning firm has completed projects throughout the USA and can be viewed at Wyss Associates, Inc. serves as project manager for The Sculpture Project: Passage of Wind and Water starting with the artist selection process through completion of the work.

Advisory Board

Representatives from across the Black Hills continue to serve on the board of advisors for The Sculpture Project: Passage of Wind and Water.

  • Peter Anderson, MAC Construction, Arts Rapid City board member
  • Steve Babbitt, Black Hills State University photography professor, artist, Rapid City Arts Council board member
  • Mary Bordeaux, The Crazy Horse Memorial
  • Ruth Brennan, Allied Arts Fund board member, South Dakota Arts Council board member, Black Hills Playhouse board member, Journey Museum board member
  • Marcia Dunsmore, Journey Museum staff
  • Jhon GoesInCenter, Jewelry artist
  • Carmen Hansen, John T. Vucurevich Foundation program officer
  • Anna Huntington, Community Arts Coordinator for The Sculpture Project
  • Regina Jahr, Black Hills Area Community Foundation
  • Denny Korb, Paralegal, Johnson Eiesland Law, Black Hills Community Theater board member
  • Joan Martin, RCC Western Stores advertising and promotions director
  • Pepper Massey, Rapid City Arts Council executive director
  • Lori Pourier, First Peoples Fund president
  • Kenny Putnam, Musician and graphic artist
  • Gabrielle Seeley, Rapid City Schools language arts teacher, Rapid City Academy
  • Dan Senftner, Destination Rapid City, president and CEO
  • Sandy Swallow, Sandy Swallow Gallery, Hill City
  • Michelle Thomson, Black Hills Badlands director
  • Patrick Wyss, Wyss Associates, Rapid City Arts Council board member
destination rapid city
main street square

The Artist | Making It Happen | Photo Galleries | Visit & Directions | Contact Us

512 Main Street, Suite 980, Rapid City, South Dakota 57701. Call (605) 716-7979. Write

©2012 Destination Rapid City. All rights reserved | Site development by The Numad Group.